Thoughts on ending Trimester Two

So just like that, twelve weeks are over. And so here’s the customary end of trimester reflection.

1. I definitely enjoyed my modules more this time around than the last. There was more time to prepare and read ahead, to think and ponder about ideas, and to have conversations with others about those ideas. Especially blessed to have really good profs who are open to our ideas and make me inspired to learn and read more broadly. Overall, it felt good to be much more with it on the key ideas than struggling to make sense of it all during the last trimester. It was edifying to be regarded as being really on top of international law,  even though there was no secret – just diligent prep and reading way ahead.

2. Can’t say the same thing about exams though. I don’t think I’ll do as well as last trimester.  Seem ironic that I’m more comfortable with the content this time around but didn’t feel I did good on the exams. Oh well. Life is more than just exams. But try telling that to the guy who is looking at your transcript and not at your life history.

3. I’m really happy I’m getting to know more people in school, and no surprises they aren’t from strat. Is it true strat boys are just not collegial types? Oh well. I only hope my links will grow over the new year. It would make student life more real, I guess.

4. They’ve packed Tri Three with so much good stuff it’s hard to choose what to take with just a week to mull. I think I’ll go with my passion and my gut – the former has served me really well and the latter hasn’t been too off, actually.

So how much of a break am I going to give myself before getting back to work? Not much I guess. I’m seriously considering taking three modules in Trimester Three and that means more work. To be honest I think I was a bit too relaxed during Trimester Two and the pace wasn’t helpful to help me adjust to a typical three-module term. Oh well. I’ll just soldier on and enjoy whatever downtime I can get. Hopefully the module content will more than make up for the workload.

Leave a Reply

