Brain gym is training your mind to deal with negative thoughts

It’s the hols again. I wish I could say I was better, but that contentment I spoke of in an earlier post has somehow shaded insidiously into an unsettling feeling of ennui and borderline funk. I think I’m coming to the end of my time in The Job. It is meaningful and it is important, but I don’t see myself really cut out for this in the long haul. And I don’t want to be a member of the walking dead, an unfeeling, salary-collecting stiff.

Been trying to figure out why this is the case for the longest time, but so far I haven’t really stumbled upon anything concrete or enlightening. Then I started reading this book on mindfulness which suggests several meditation techniques and how we should not let our thoughts control us but see them for what they are, useful ways to detect and acknowledge our emotional state of being so that we can then decide how we want to respond to it, and not necessarily let them suck us into a vicious circle of self-loathing and distress.

I haven’t tried out the techniques yet, but I am inclined to believe that just like I had to focus on and commit to my gym and diet regime to lose weight, so I need to do the same for this brain gym, if I want to ever control my emotional turbulence and achieve a balance between head and heart.

Leave a Reply

