Why do I feel down again?

It hasn’t happened to me in a long time.

I couldn’t finish my workout today. I could barely last fifteen minutes. And I don’t know why. At least not precisely. I did have that nagging feeling this morning, shortly after waking up. That all I wanted to do today was laze around like I did over the weekend. The thought of going back to The Job, even just to use the gym, was completely unappealing. Still, I went. I thought all I needed was the discipline of routine. In the end, I couldn’t do it. I couldn’t finish the workout.

And so I’m typing this trying to figure out what’s wrong. No I’m not in a funk – the usual suspects aren’t bothering me at all, but there’s a deep disatisfaction somewhere down there. I think I need a break – yes, maybe even from gym. Coming back on the very first day of the one week break was a stupid idea. Either that, or I’m just too hungry to have the energy to complete the workout. Thing is, I don’t feel hungry. I feel I need a break though.

There’s more to life than routine, than The Job. I feel this. Now all I need to do is to find that meaningful thing to refresh me, recharge me. Or maybe I should wrap up those eight summaries and get myself a nice plate of fettuccine aglio. And if that hits the sweet spot, then yeah, it’s definitely hunger.

Leave a Reply

