Weird dream, or weird dreamer

I was at Holland Village. It was raining and I was trying to get home. This girl bumps into me. I was annoyed, but decided to let it go. But she kept insisting on apologizing, and I finally get to take a good look at her. She was rather pretty. So I introduced myself, rather nervously.

Her name was Nmint. (I remember spelling it out to get it right.) She was Malaysian who lived in JB. She was also kind of nervous, but we sort of hit it off and decided to wait out the rain in a cafe. One of the things we talked about was the JB accent, and she mentioned how Singaporeans could always be identified in Malaysia from the way they spoke. She told me she was also on The Job, and we got to talking about it. She shared a bad memory about when she was a student with her GP teacher named Mohd something. It’s implied she’s on The Job at JJ, and we realised we knew some mutual colleagues. Then I find out she used to study where I now was, and naturally I asked her to seriously consider returning to her alumni to work. She wasn’t initially very keen, but agreed to consider it. I even remarked on how I would very much like it if we eventually became colleagues.

Eventually the rain stopped and I summoned my courage to ask if I could see her home. We took the train – railway, not subway – and we continued talking over food. When we arrived, she didn’t want to get down straightaway, but told me to go ahead because she wanted to finish her meal. Her manner felt like she was waiting for something or someone. I told her I was ok waiting for her, and she agreed to let me stay.

Then an elderly couple came into the car (we were like in a private booth, with a table in the centre of the car where we ate) and sat down in front of us. Nmint whispered to me that she needed my help. She told me whatever happened, even if she replied to the contrary, that if I was asked my opinion I should say ‘no’. The woman began her presentation, taken from a written document (which I felt very strongly was a formal legal submission to the court appealing their case) and it became clear that the old couple was Nmint’s biological parents who wanted her back. During her very emotional speech explaining why Nmint had been given up, I could feel Nmint was getting very emotional too – her breathing was laboured and she was holding back tears. I had my arms around her, giving her support.

The woman finished speaking and then the man started. This time he addressed me. He wanted to show me something. I was inducted into some kind of virtual reality experience where I did, among other things, throw different-sized balls into a rather small makeshift hoop on top of a bed, with a virtual character interacting with me, encouraging me to make the shots, try harder etc. Eventually I became aware of something stopping my left ear, and I started to get at it. It felt like it played a central role in controlling what I was currently experiencing. Eventually I managed to pull something out – a very long strip of confetti-like white paper. Then I woke up.

Weird!

Of course, this one’s easier to decipher: YS leaning against me; I tilt my head down towards her face as she arches up, and we share a tender kiss. Wow.

Leave a Reply

