Got 102 minutes?: Awaiting the arrival of United 93, the 2-disc edition

I know – it’s been a while since I’ve penned a 102 Minutes entry. What can I say – I’m busy k? Not that I’m not reading; I just can’t seem to find the time to pen down my thoughts fully. So here’s a byte-sized update.

I finally eBayed the 2-disc edition of United 93. And – get this – it’s from a seller in the UK. Why, you ask? Because every re-seller I found on Amazon ‘does not ship to your country’. What a load of crap. Well, their loss. I just hope I don’t walk into my local HMV or Borders and find it staring at me in the face with a much more affordable price tag.

Separately, I’m still ploughing through Longitudes, reading as many columns as I can in between travelling breaks to and from The Job. It’s kinda depressing watching Friedman get increasingly frustrated, albeit somewhat a little optimistic, then more and more resigned and helpless as the realisation dawns on him that Bush is a moron whose personal incompetence has – we all know now – signed off on all the bodybags coming out of Iraq. I don’t know what’s sadder – watching him lose hope with every column, or not realising that his naive over-confidence in the fundamental goodness of America is precisely that which prevents him from (conveniently?) fleshing out a realistic plan of action instead of pouring out more of the general, motherhood statements. As the back of my paperback edition says, truly Friedman is a man ‘trying to explain the unthinkable to himself’. And not succeeding. That’s S-A-D.

Leave a Reply

